If you are convicted of possession of more than five grams of hashish (N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a(3)) in New Jersey, you run the risk of being sentenced to up to 18 months in state prison, owing a $25,000 fine, losing your driver’s license for two years, and paying various fees and assessments.
You’ll also have a drug conviction on your record after the fact, and as a Fourth Degree Crime, it’s comparable to a felony conviction in other states.
You’ll see job opportunities disappear, access to public benefits and some student loan programs closed off, and have to explain yourself to potential landlords.
This is the type of conviction that can alter the trajectory of your life, and it demands all of your attention and the best legal representation available.
An experienced attorney can help you understand your options, negotiate productively if prosecutors are willing to do so, which can result in reduced charges, or build the kind of case that makes it very hard for prosecutors to convict you.
Attorney Matthew Reisig represents clients across New Jersey when they’ve been charged with marijuana or hashish possession, and can help protect you from the most severe penalties in our criminal justice system.
Call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey hashish possession defense attorney.