While New Jersey’s DWI law is unusual in keeping DWIs as traffic infractions and not criminal matters, if someone is injured as a result of drunk driving, the case takes on a whole new dimension.
Third degree Assault by Auto is a criminal charge that prosecutors will pursue if a DWI-related accident resulted in “serious bodily injury” to another party.
Generally, assault by auto requires a showing of reckless conduct in the operation of the vehicle, but in third degree assault by auto, the operator’s drunkenness is the element of recklessness.
For third degree assault by auto, you’ll be facing 3-5 years in New Jersey State Prison and a fine of up to $15,000. When the DWI-related assault by auto happens in a school zone, it becomes a Second Degree offense, and carries a penalty of 5-10 years and a fine of up to $150,000.
Don’t fight serious charges alone. Call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and get help right away.