Don't let a New Jersey Driving Without Insurance Charge Ruin Your Life!
New Jersey Criminal Laws on Driving Without
Driving without insurance is treated as a very
serious crime in New Jersey, and you are facing harsh penalties. A good
defense requires an skillful, experienced lawyer.
A paperwork mishap, a change of address, a mistake by your insurance
company, failure by your spouse to pay the bill, or other innocent
situation that caused your insurance to lapse.
Since the penalties for conviction or pleading guilty are very
severe, it often makes sense to fight the charges to give yourself a
chance to avoid the significant costs in fines and insurance surcharges.
Call me for a free consultation, and I'll help you work through which
legal options make sense for you.
NJ Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The penalties for driving without insurance in New Jersey are:
- First offense: Up to $1000 fine; community service; DMV surcharges
of $250 for 3 years; 9 insurance points
- Second offense: Up to $5000 fine; mandatory jail sentence of 14
days; 30 days community service; license suspension for 2 years
Some judges will waive the community service in first offense cases.
Defenses to Driving without Auto Liability Insurance/Uninsured
Driver in New Jersey
There are several different defense strategies to fight an uninsured
driver charge. I'll study the facts of your situation and analyze the
details of what may have happened with your insurance company to
determine exactly what happened, and how to best argue your innocence.
Some important questions and defenses are:
- Was their previously insurance that was cancelled incorrectly by
the insurance company?
- Are you the owner of the car and legally responsible for
insuring it in NJ?
- Can the state prove each and every element of the crime - that
you knowingly drove a car registered or principally garaged in New
Jersey without having insurance?
I can also challenge the vehicle stop if the police did not have
probable cause to pull you over in the first place.
It is important that you get an experienced lawyer if you hope to
beat the charges or minimize the damage and penalties. A lot depends on
the municipal court where the case happens, and the judge you face. Some
judges are more agreeable to certain arguments or lenient than others.
Hiring a lawyer who knows how the process works may end up saving you
money in reduced penalties, fines, surcharges, and suspensions. Don't
risk trying it yourself.
Call me anytime to talk about your driving without insurance charge
or any other New Jersey traffic incident, and I'll let you know what I
can do to help.
I am in different New Jersey criminal and traffic courts every day,
defending my clients rights and freedom to drive on charges, including driving
without insurance. If you're facing
these or other traffic or criminal charges in New Jersey, call me for a free consultation now.
(888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660
Driving Without Liability Insurance (N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2)