Have You Been Arrested or Charged with Harassment in NJ?
Protect Your Rights and Consult an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Today!
Harassment can be a serious criminal charge with potentially significant penalties. It makes sense to cover your bases and make sure your rights as defendant are fully protected by talked to an experienced criminal defense attorney about your New Jersey harassment charge.
You can be charged with harassment here in NJ if you are causing “purposeful disorder” to another by making repeated attempts to irritate or annoy another person with purpose. Threatening to hurt or assault another person, or making noise or causing other significant annoyance may also be considered a crime under New Jersey harassment laws.
The laws state that you can be charged with harassment if there is a claim that you have:
- Made, or caused to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm;
- Subjected another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatened to do so; or
- Engaged in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person
If there is evidence of any of these elements, you will be charged with a Petty Disorderly Persons Offense in your local New Jersey Municipal Court.
Harassment Penalties in New Jersey
A conviction in such a matter will show up on your criminal record, and may have serious consequences for you. In addition to the criminal penalties for harassment charges, it will also have a lasting impact on your life.
A Petty Disorderly Persons Offense carries penalties of up to 30 days in jail, and fines of up to $500.
More serious is a stalking offense, which is a felony level charge.
Also refer to my domestic violence penalties page if the relationship and statute applies.
How to Beat a Harassment Charge
There are always legitimate defense strategies we can try to get a dismissal or beat the charges against you. The evidence against you may be thin and/or subjective. There may be evidence of a dispute that goes both ways.
We can also argue for a dismissal in exchange for anger management classes or other terms agreeable to all parties.
The defenses I use depend on the specific facts of your case. Contact me for a consultation and I’ll let you know exactly what I can do to help.
A Free, Legal Consultation on a New Jersey Harassment Charge
I can offer you a free legal consultation on your harassment charge, either in person or over the phone. You have nothing to lose by calling — and you will learn exactly what your rights and options are. Take advantage of a chance to talk directly to a New Jersey defense attorney who has represented people just like you countless times before. If you decide not to hire me to represent you, it’s only cost you an hour of your time.
Please call me to discuss your New Jersey stalking, domestic violence, or other charge, at my offices in Freehold, NJ. (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660. Call now for a free, no-obligation criminal defense legal consultation.
New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer – Freehold, NJ