Don't Let a New Jersey Drug Possession Criminal Charge Ruin Your
Arrested for Possession in New Jersey?
Drug possession laws in New Jersey have continued to get more
severe. If you've been charged with drug possession or other narcotic drug
charges, you need answers from a skilled attorney to defend and protect your
Any simple drug possession conviction penalties may include loss or
suspension of your
driver's license as part of the penalty.
For many people, not being able to drive means that you can't keep
your job and earn a living. It is critical to make sure you have
protected all your legal defense options to prevent this from happening
to you. Please contact me for a consultation on any drug charges in New
Jersey at (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660.
Can I Beat a Drug Possession Charge?
Absolutely. In most cases there are excellent defense options where
we can fight for a dismissal, or get charges substantially reduced.
Don't give up or plead guilty before exploring and evaluating all of
your legal defense options! There are many legitimate defenses to drug
possession charges that you will want to thoroughly explore.
Illegal search is a legitimate defense. Police commonly violate you
Constitutional rights, and I won't let them get away with it.
Police officers will also try to coerce incriminating statements out
of you during the course of an arrest. The officer may try to get you to
admit to that the drugs are yours, and that questioning is frequently
I will challenge any illegal questioning as a violation of your
constitutional rights under Miranda and other New Jersey laws.
So remember, to give yourself every chance to beat the charges:
- Do not admit to any facts about the substance in question
- Do not speak to the prosecutor, police, court officials, or
anyone about your case
- Speak to a qualified New Jersey criminal defense lawyer
There also may be plea agreements available that can keep your record
clean, in exchange for treatment programs or community service.
But you may only have a limited time to take advantage of your best
defense options. So Please Contact me right
away for a free consultation on your drug
charges. (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660.
NJ Drug Laws and Penalties
The laws and potential penalties for drug charges are not always
clear to most people, so free free to take advantage of my free
consultation to discuss your situation.
New Jersey drug possession penalties include:
Possession of Marijuana
For Simple Possession of marijuana (pot), you face the risk
of, even on a first offense:
- up to 18 months in jail
- Fines from $500-15,000
- Loss of driver's license
- Drug Rehabilitation Programs (at your expense)
See my possession of marijuana page for more details
on this, and on intent to distribute marijuana charges.
Possession of Narcotics / Controlled Substances
For possession of other drugs, including Possession of
Meth / Methamphetamines, Speed, or LSD/Acid, Ecstasy, GBH, MMDA,
or any other illegal narcotic, stimulant, hallucinogen, opiate, or
depressant, First Offense:
- From 3-5 years in jail
- Fines from $1000-$25,000
- Loss of driver's license
- mandatory drug rehabilitation and education programs
Again, these maximum penalties are possible under NJ law for a first
offense drug possession charge. For a second or subsequent offense, the
risk of stiffer sentencing becomes even greater.
Other Drug Possession Penalties
There are also New Jersey drug laws that state that the police may
confiscate your car if they find any "controlled dangerous
substance". Getting the best defense from a top lawyer can help
lessen the risk of the harshest penalties.
Also see my Possession with Intent to
Distribute, Dispense or Manufacture page.
Penalties in New Jersey for Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
(pipes, bongs, spoons, etc.)
Drug Paraphernalia possession offenses in NJ are very strict.
Possession of drug paraphernalia is commonly charged in simple
Many legal, common household items may
be characterized and charged as possession of drug paraphernalia,
adding to the charges and penalties you may face for a drug possession
The prosecutor may use a paraphernalia charge as increased leverage
in a narcotics possession case, but we can argue that the charges be
dismissed, and the items in question were not drug related.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia Penalties in NJ
- Up to six months in jail; fines from $500-$1000. License
suspension for up to 2 years.
Possession of Prescription Drugs
It is illegal to possess any prescription drug not legally prescribed
for your use by a doctor. If you cannot prove that prescription
medication is yours, you can be charged with illegal possession. Simply
transporting legal prescription pills outside of the original bottle
could result in an arrest.
Commonly charged prescription drug possession
- Ambien (Zolpidem)
- Klonopin (Clonazepam)
- Valium (Diazepam)
- Vicodin (Hydrocodone)
- Xanax (Alprazolam)
- Tramadol (Ultram) pain medication
- Fioricet & Imitrex for migraine headaches
Simple possession of unauthorized prescription drugs is usually a
third (3rd) degree indictable offense, with maximum penalties of up
to 5 years in prison and substantial fines.
Prescription Drug Fraud
It is a separate crime in New Jersey to obtain possession of
prescription drugs by fraudulent means. This could be by forging
prescriptions, stealing blank prescription pads, changing an existing
prescription to alter dosage or refills, impersonating someone with a
prescription or a doctor by calling in a prescription, and more.
New Jersey Drug Possession Defense Strategies
There are a number of strategies I commonly use to get the charges
dismissed, or beat the case at trial. I will often file a motion to
suppress the evidence against you if it may have been obtained
illegally. You have a protection against illegal search and seizure
under both New Jersey state law and US Federal Law. If the police did
not have probable cause when they searched your home or person, the
case may be dismissed.
There are also defenses if you were not properly told your rights
under Miranda, and may have incriminated yourself. There are other
rights that may apply under the 4th, 5th, 6th, or 14h amendment to the
The prosecutor also must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that any
substance involved is actually an illegal controlled substance, and
they also must prove that the substance belonged to you or was in your
possession. I will challenge each and every one of these assertions in
Should I Agree to a Deal to Plead Guilty on a Drug Charge?
In some cases, you might want to work out a plea deal, but not before
finding out if the case against you is weak, and the charges should be
dismissed. It's hard to know what the right thing to do is without
speaking with a lawyer.
If I work out a deal, I may try to get an agreement with the
prosecutor that includes drug treatment. Such a drug rehabilitation
program can be part of a reasonable deal that you can live with, and
there are many qualified drug treatment providers and rehab centers
across New Jersey that are recognized by the courts. If this is your first time in trouble with the law, I will also argue
for leniency in the interest of justice.
Free Legal Consultation on any Drug Charge in New Jersey
If you've been accused of drug possession, marijuana, cocaine,
heroin, ecstasy, or any controlled substance, or other drug charges in New Jersey, please call
me at (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660, and I'll consult with you on your legal
situation, and what I can do to help. There's no obligation, call now.
Matthew Reisig, Attorney at Law
New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer - Freehold, NJ (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660