New Jersey Penalties For Bias Intimidation (N.J.S.A. 2C:16-1) Charges
Bias Intimidation (N.J.S.A. 2C:16-1) in New Jersey is charged in connection to offenses like Harassment, when such charges are directed at certain groups of people for specific purposes of intimidation.
Commonly referred to as a hate crimes law, Bias Intimidation is graded according to the underlying charges.
In cases where you’ve been charged with disorderly persons or petty disorderly persons offenses, the Bias Intimidation charge will be a crime of the fourth degree.
The maximum penalty would be 18 months in prison for that charge, other offenses notwithstanding.
When the underlying charges are indictable offenses, Bias Intimidation will be charged at one degree higher than the underlying charge.
If the underlying charge is a crime of the first degree, Bias Intimidation will be charged at that level, with a presumed sentence of 20 years if you’re convicted.
Bias Intimidation charges are often based on loose reasoning, and an effective defense can call into question the allegation of intent in the underlying charges.
When you’re facing charges like Bias Intimidation, call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.