The state of New Jersey takes an increasingly punitive approach to repeat DUI offenders.
Under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, a driver convicted of a second DUI faces a jail term of up to 90 days, loss of their license for a period of two years, 30 days of community service, and a fine of up to $1,000.
You’ll also be required to have an interlock ignition device installed on your vehicle, at your expense, and pay to use it for two years.
DUI convictions are a big problem for drivers in New Jersey, but the allegation that you were drunk driving still requires the prosecution to prove its case.
There are many defenses against DUI charges, and in particular, against second DUI charges.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has successfully defended more than 1,000 New Jersey drivers against DUI charges, and can make a difference in your case.
Call 732-625-9661 today to speak to an experienced New Jersey Drunk Driving defense attorney for free.