There are two possible grades for False Reports to Law Enforcement Authorities (N.J.S.A. 2C:28-4) in New Jersey, one at the felony level and one at the misdemeanor level. When a person falsely incriminates another person to purposely implicate that other person in a crime the actor knows they did not commit, the actor can be charged with a crime of the fourth degree, a felony. If convicted, you can be sentenced to up to 18 months in prison and face a fine of as much as $10,000.
Less seriously, you can be charged at the misdemeanor level for filing fictitious police reports. This may mean reporting an incident that did not occur, or providing fictitious information about an event that did occur to law enforcement. Punishment for conviction of a disorderly persons offense can be six months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
Lying to law enforcement is a serious allegation with serious consequences. Fight back with the best legal help available. Matthew Reisig has defended clients from all types of charges in New Jersey for nearly 20 years, and has an outstanding record of success. Call 732-625-9661 today and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.