New Jersey Penalties For Kidnapping (N.J.S.A. 2C:13-1) Charges
In the best case, Kidnapping (N.J.S.A. 2C:13-1) in New Jersey will be charged as a second degree crime, and you’ll be sentenced to five to 10 years if convicted.
That’s the best case, where the victim is released unharmed in a safe place.
In any other circumstance, New Jersey prosecutors will charge Kidnapping as a crime of the first degree, with a sentence of between 15-30 years.
In especially egregious circumstances, you can be sentenced to life in prison for Kidnapping.
You cannot take chances on charges this serious.
Whatever the circumstances, and whatever the results, you require the highest quality legal defense available to protect your rights and freedom.
For help with Kidnapping charges, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.