New Jersey Penalties For Knowingly Leaving Scene Of Motor Vehicle Accident Resulting In Death (N.J.S.A. 2C:11-5.1) Charges
Knowingly Leaving Scene of Motor Vehicle Accident Resulting in Death (N.J.S.A. 2C:11-5.1) is a New Jersey statute that provides a number of potentially sweeping penalties to those charged.
First, conviction under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-5.1 is a second degree crime, meaning that you can be sentenced to between five and 10 years, with fines of up to $150,000.
In addition, the statute specifies that the defendant can also be charged with aggravated manslaughter or vehicular homicide, and that the charges cannot be merged. If convicted under one of these statutes and N.J.S.A. 2C:11-5.1, your sentences must run consecutively rather than concurrently.
Knowingly Leaving Scene of Motor Vehicle Accident Resulting In Death is a very serious charge that can cost you years of your life.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has protected the rights and liberty of people in New Jersey for more than 17 years, even when they are facing serious criminal charges.
Call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.