Robbery Charge Defense Lawyer In NJ
There are a number of ways that New Jersey law criminalizes the illegal taking of property. Robbery charges are a serious offense.
Robbery (N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1) is, in essence, a crime of theft plus certain conditions.
Specifically, the statute reads, “A person is guilty of robbery if, in the course of committing a theft, he: (1) Inflicts bodily injury or uses force upon another; or (2) Threatens another with or purposely puts him in fear of immediate bodily injury; or (3) Commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree.”
Because Robbery includes a variety of different offenses, it is a serious, second degree felony crime that carries a sentence of five to 10 years in prison and fines up to $150,000.
It can also be prosecuted as a first degree crime if the defendant attempts to kill anyone, purposely inflicts or attempts to inflict serious bodily injury, or is armed with, uses, or threatens to use a deadly weapon.
This last item is perhaps the most dangerous in our heavily armed society, as theft crimes committed with a firearm are extremely common, and can easily lead to a first degree Robbery prosecution.
Penalties For Robbery Charges In New Jersey
Penalties for robbery charges in those cases begin with a prison sentence of ten years, and longer depending on the specific facts of the matter, as well as fines of $200,000.
Obviously, Robbery charges require a strong and decisive defense.
If you’re facing charges under 2C:15-1, get experienced legal help right away.
Call MatthewReisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced criminal defense lawyer.