Unlawful Taking of Means of Conveyance (N.J.S.A. 2C:20-10) is a New Jersey law that criminalizes car theft, but also the theft of other vehicles.
At its lowest grade, Unlawful Taking of Means of Conveyance will be charged as a disorderly persons offense when the vehicle so taken is not a motor vehicle.
This can mean nearly anything else – a boat, a horse, a bicycle, an airplane, and even a skateboard could count.
If you’re convicted of taking a vehicle that isn’t a motor vehicle, you can be sentenced to up to six months in jail.
More seriously, when the vehicle is a motor vehicle, or if you enter or ride in a car that has been unlawfully taken, you will face charges at the fourth degree level, which can put you in prison for up to 18 months.
You’ll also face fines of up to $10,000.
When you operate the motor vehicle in a way that creates a risk of injury to another, the charge is elevated to a third degree crime, with the danger of a three to five year sentence and a fine of up to $15,000.
Don’t gamble on your future when facing charges of Unlawful Taking of Means of Conveyance.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.