DUI/DWI Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
I get the same questions asked to me repeatedly in the course of my law practice, so I’ve compiled many of them here. If you have other questions about a DWI charge in NJ, feel free to call me and I’ll be happy to answer you questions.
At the courts discretion you could be imprisoned up to 30 days.
But even if you get little or no jail time, a conviction will show on your permanent driving record and your license will be suspended until you pay for and install an ignition interlock device, and prove it to the court.
For BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08 % – 0.10%, you will also pay a fine of at least $250 but no more than $400, and spend up to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
For BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08 % – 0.10%, you will also pay a fine of at least $300 but no more than $500, and spend up to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
For BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.10% and higher but less than 0.15%, you will also pay fines and spend up to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
For BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.15% and higher, you will also pay fines and spend up to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. You will also have your license suspended from 4 – 6 months.
If you are convicted on second or third offense, it is possible you may face MUCH stiffer penalties. If you or a family member is facing this situation, get the best attorney you can find.
There is no one answer to that question, my fees depend on the complexity of the case and the severity of the charges. Will we need expert witnesses? Extra investigations? I’ll have to talk with you and determine how many court dates and estimate how much work it will be to resolve your case. I do charge flat fees. For more details, see my DWI lawyer fees page.
Yes, it is always possible to beat the charges, win the case, or get a dismissal. I’ve had a lot of success getting averting convictions in New Jersey Drunk Driving cases. Call me for details.
You face the same punishment outlined above.
The place for required alcohol education/awareness classes after a DWI charge is New Jersey’s Intoxicated Drivers Resource Centers (IDRC). For a first offense DWI, you will have to take at least 12 hours of program sessions, which is usually divided up into 2 6 hour sessions, which costs $100.
You will be evaluated by New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Program (IDP) unit who can require additional training or treatment at their discretion.
Here is a list of the local IDRC Intoxicated Drivers Resource Centers across New Jersey.
Don’t be overwhelmed by your drunk driving/DWI charges. Take action to get informed and help yourself by calling me for a consultation from an experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney.
Reisig & Associates, LLC
One Broad Street
Freehold, NJ 07728
Call today (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660