Criminal Lawyer For Writing Bad Checks, Money Orders, Electronic Funds Transfers (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-5)
Passing a bad check, money order, or electronic funds transfer is a theft crime in New Jersey, and under the terms of N.J.S.A. 2C:21-5, it can have extremely serious consequences for you.
Prosecutors will have to show that you knowingly passed a check that would or could not be honored, such as because of lack of funds, the account had been closed, or it did not exist in the first place.
As a theft crime, you’ll be prosecuted based on the value of the bad checks.
Amounts less than $200 are a disorderly persons offense, with a penalty of up to six months and a fine of $1,000.
This is the best case scenario for you, as penalties escalate rapidly from there.
For values less than $1,000, you’ll face a fourth degree crime charge, similar to a low felony in other states, and a sentence of up to 18 months with a fine of $10,000.
If the amount is less than $75,000, you’ll be charged with a third degree crime and can go to prison for up to three to five years with a fine of up to $15,000.
When the bad checks total more than $75,000, you’ll be charged with a second degree crime and can go to prison for up to 10 years and be fined $150,000.
When you’re facing theft charges like Writing Bad Checks, you need experienced legal help.
Matthew Reisig has been defending clients in New Jersey against theft and other charges for almost 20 years.
If you need help with Writing Bad Checks, Money Orders, Electronic Funds Transfers charges, call 732-625-9661 today and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.