New Jersey Penalties For Writing Bad Checks, Money Orders, Electronic Funds Transfers (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-5)
As with most theft charges, Writing Bad Checks, Money Orders, Electronic Funds Transfers (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-5) is graded based on the dollar values in question, with penalties becoming more stringent as the amount of the theft increases.
The lowest degree, a disorderly persons offense, is charged for passing bad checks in an amount less than $200.
At that level, your maximum penalty would be six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
When the amount involved is between $200 and $1,000, you’ll be charged with a fourth degree crime, and risk up to 18 months in prison and a fine of $10,000.
When the values of the checks are between $1,000 and $75,000 – a huge span – you’ll be charged at the third degree level and face a prison sentence of three to five years.
You’ll also be fined up to $15,000, on top of the restitution costs that any theft conviction will require.
When the values are above that $75,000 threshold, you’re looking at serious prison time.
Conviction of a second degree crime carries a sentence of between five and 10 years, with a fine of up to $150,000.
Don’t risk Bad Checks charges alone.
If you need help with Writing Bad Checks, Money Orders, Electronic Funds Transfers charges, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.