If convicted of Bad Checks in New Jersey (N.J.S.A 2C:21-5), you’ll face the same penalty structure as other theft crimes.
The severity of the sentence is linked to the dollar amount stolen, and penalties run the gamut from modest to severe.
If you are convicted of cashing Bad Checks whose value is less than $200, you are facing a disorderly persons offense that can put you in jail for six months, with a penalty of $1000.
If the Bad Checks were in an amount between $200 and $1000, this is a fourth degree crime, carrying a potential sentence of 18 months and a $10,000 fine.
When the conviction is for Bad Checks in an amount between $1,000 and $75,000, this is a third degree crime that can carry a sentence of five years and a $15,000 fine.
Amounts that exceed $75,000 are second degree crimes, and can put you away for 10 years and leave you with a $150,000 fine.
You’ll also face restitution, various state-ordered fees, and other expenses.
If you’ve been charged with Bad Checks in New Jersey, your future is at risk.
There are defenses, and an experienced Bad Checks attorney can protect your rights and help safeguard your freedom.
Call Matthew Reisig at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation today.