Looking for a great gift for your teen? In New Jersey, a firearm should probably not be on the list.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:58-6.1, Possession of Firearms by Minors, it is a crime of the fourth degree for a person under the age of 18 to acquire, possess, carry or use a firearm, and for a person under the age of 21 to acquire, possess, carry or use a handgun, except in situations where they are supervised by a permit holder, engaged in a properly supervised military drill, engaged in competition, target shooting, or instruction in a firing range and properly supervised, or lawfully hunting after completing a hunter’s safety course.
When a person under 18 acquires a firearm, or a person under 21 acquires a handgun outside of those circumstances, they run the risk of being charged with a felony.
If convicted of a crime of the fourth degree, your child can be sentenced to up to 18 months in jail and fined up to $10,000.
Perhaps more importantly, your child could be stuck with a felony record if convicted of Possession of Firearms by Minors, and that can cut them off from all kinds of life opportunities.
If you’re a hunter or a sport shooter and want to share that experience with your child, you’re not alone.
It’s important to be aware of laws like 2C:58-6.1 so you and your child can enjoy firearms safely and legally.
When you have problems, don’t take chances on police or prosecutors being understanding.
If your child has been charged with a crime, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.