Kids and guns are considered a bad mix under New Jersey law.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:58-6.1, Possession of Firearms by Minors, it’s a felony for someone under the age of 18 to acquire, possess or use a firearm without supervision from an adult with proper licenses to possess or purchase firearms.
It’s also a felony for a person under the age of 21 to acquire, possess or use a handgun without supervision from an adult with proper licenses.
The statute creates exceptions for youth gun possession when parents, guardians and other permit holders are in the minor’s presence, a military drill where competent supervision is provided, a shooting competition, target practice, training or instruction, and for hunting, during hunting season, with a hunting license and after the completion of a hunter’s safety course.
Otherwise, your child may be facing a fourth degree charge, which can result in 18 months in jail and a fine of $10,000, as well a felony record that they’ll have to disclose on things like job and housing applications.
A person convicted may be barred from student loan programs and have a hard time being accepted into college and other career-track training programs.
Alleged violations of 2C:58-6.1 need to be taken seriously to safeguard your child’s future.
If your child has been charged with a firearms crime, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer.