Cocaine is considered a controlled dangerous substance in New Jersey and around the nation, and penalties for possession include a 3-5 year sentence in state prison, fines up to $35,000, mandatory drug rehabilitation, and loss of your driver’s license.
New Jersey can also take your vehicle if drugs are found in it, and penalties can be increased under a variety of circumstances.
If you’ve been charged with possession of cocaine, you are in a dangerous situation, but don’t give up hope.
There are many defenses to drug charges, including arguing that a search or stop was illegal, that statements were coerced, and more.
You don’t have to accept a guilty verdict or plead guilty to a crime that police have railroaded you into.
Get a free consultation with one of New Jersey’s most experienced criminal defense attorneys today by calling 732-625-9661.