NJ Defense Attorney For Criminal Sexual Contact Charges
Everyone understands the stakes when there are allegations of Criminal Sexual Contact in New Jersey, but it’s the statute N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3(b) that defines the crime and penalties you’ll face if convicted.
The law references the Sexual Assault statute to establish its terms, and essentially says that if you commit an act of sexual contact with a victim under any of a series of circumstances outlined there, you are guilty of a crime of the fourth degree.
Among the circumstances from the Sexual Assault statute are the use of force or coercion, having a role that gives you authority over an incarcerated person, where the victim is between 16 and 18 and a close blood relative, a foster child, or where the victim is between 13 and 16 and you are at least four years older.
Penalties If Convicted Of Criminal Sexual Contact In New Jersey
As a fourth degree crime, the direct penalty for conviction is a prison sentence of up to 18 months and fines of up to $10,000.
The impacts of this felony conviction don’t stop when you’re released though.
You’ll also be forced to register as a sex offender, possibly for the rest of your life.
Prospects for a normal career and life are diminished, as you’ll have to disclose the conviction on job and housing applications and notify police when you’ll be in a jurisdiction for more than a few days.
In dealing with police on this matter, proceed with care.
Get legal help right away to protect your rights and minimize the dangers you’re facing.
Call MatthewReisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer.