New Jersey Penalties For Fencing (N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7.1) Charges
Whether you were in possession of altered goods or are charged with dealing in stolen property, the charges will be graded according to the value of property, as determined by the court.
When the value is less than $200, theft is a disorderly persons offense, with a maximum penalty of six months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
When the value is between $200 and $500, you’ll be charged with a fourth degree crime, with a sentence of up to 18 months and a fine of $10,000.
When the value is between $500 and $75,000, you’ll be charged with a crime of the third degree, and face a sentence of three to five years and a fine of up to $15,000.
When the value is above $75,000, you’ll face charges at the second degree level, and a sentence of between five and 10 years if convicted.
Fines for second degree crimes run as high as $150,000, and you’ll also pay restitution to victims.
Theft crimes are prosecuted aggressively in New Jersey, so it’s vital that you get the best defense available.
Matthew Reisig has protected clients in New Jersey from prosecutorial overreach and overzealous law enforcement for nearly 20 years.
Call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation.