Defense Lawyer For Burglary (N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2) Charges
Entering or remaining in a place without permission, and with the intention of committing a crime there, is charged as Burglary (N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2) in New Jersey.
The charge is extremely serious, and a conviction for Burglary will always leave you with a felony record. As a base charge, Burglary is a crime of the third degree, and carries a potential sentence of three to five years and fines up to $15,000.
However, if during the burglary you threaten or harm another person, even accidentally, or if you are armed with weapons or explosives, the charge is enhanced to the second degree level.
If convicted, you’ll be sentenced to between five and 10 years, and face fines as high as $150,000.
If you’ve been charged with Burglary in New Jersey, you can’t risk facing the charge alone.
An experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney can approach your case with a view to the best outcome for you – from negotiating with prosecutors to achieve a reduction in the charges, alternative sentencing, or outright dismissal, to defending you in court.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has protected people in New Jersey from serious criminal penalties for nearly 20 years.
If you or a family member need assistance with Burglary charges, call 732-625-9661 today and talk to a lawyer.