New Jersey Penalties For Receiving Stolen Property (N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7) Charges
Receiving Stolen Property charges (N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7) in New Jersey carries the same penalties as if you had stolen the property yourself.
The charge will be graded based on the assessed valued of the stolen property you received, starting with goods worth between $200 and $500 as a fourth degree crime.
If convicted, you can face up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
When the value is more than $500, but less than $75,000, you’ll be charged with a crime of the third degree, with a sentence of between three and five years and fines of $15,000.
As a second degree offense, Receiving Stolen Property in excess of $75,000 in value can put you in prison for 5-10 years and leave you with fines of $150,000.
Receiving Stolen Property charges are dangerous at any level, and conviction can have far-reaching implications for the rest of your life.
If you’ve been charged with any theft crime, get experienced help right away.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.