New Jersey Penalties For Lewdness (N.J.S.A. 2C:14-4) Charges
Lewdness (N.J.S.A. 2C:14-4) can be charged at two levels in New Jersey, depending on the specifics of the conduct alleged. Regardless of which offense, if you have been charged with Lewdness in NJ, you want to have strong legal defense.
The least serious charge will be a disorderly persons offense, where a presumption of non-incarceration applies to first offenders, but the court has discretion to sentence you to up to six months.
Additionally, fines and penalties will exceed $1,000.
When lewd conduct is alleged to have been committed for sexual gratification and in view of persons under the age of 13, you will be charged with a crime of the fourth degree, which is the equivalent of a low felony in other states.
As a first offender, you may avoid jail time, but can be sentenced to as much as 18 months in prison.
Second and subsequent offenses offer no presumption of non-incarceration, and your risk of serving time for Lewdness increases.
An experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney can make a significant difference in your case.
If you or a family member need help with Lewdness charges, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation.