America is a melting pot, and New Jersey contains a vastly diverse population representing an endless array of cultures, religions, and beliefs. While most are welcomed wholeheartedly, the state has determined that certain customs are not permissible under our laws.
N.J.S.A. 2C:24-10, Female Genital Mutilation of Females Under 18 Years of Age, holds liable any person who knowingly performs a circumcision or excision of the genitals of a girl under 18 years of age, and also holds their parents or guardians accountable if they consent or allow such a procedure. This is a third degree crime in New Jersey and conviction can mean a three to five year prison sentence, plus fines of up to $15,000.
These are very serious charges, and the implications for your family and your community if you’re convicted can go well beyond your personal problems. Don’t take risks when facing allegations like this. Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.