Possessing child pornography in New Jersey is a Fourth Degree crime, which carries a sentence of up to 18 months in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
The state has an excellent record in prosecuting child pornography charges for two major reasons.
First, the defendant often voluntarily confesses or otherwise incriminates him/herself. Second, too few criminal defense attorneys in New Jersey have experience fighting these charges.
Inexperienced lawyers can end up offering you a plea deal that’s not much better than what a trial might deliver in the worst case.
You need thorough, smart, experienced legal help when you’ve been arrested for child pornography.
Remember your rights – you don’t have to make a statement to police, and you shouldn’t unless you’re represented.
Before you say anything, call Matthew Reisig at 732-625-9661 and protect yourself.