Authorities in New Jersey really want people to take license suspensions seriously, and that’s especially true when a person’s license is suspended because of a drunk driving conviction.
If you’re pulled over during a license suspension twice, you will no longer be in the realm of a traffic violation. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26(a), Operating Motor Vehicle Suspended, a second violation of a DWI-related suspended license is a crime of the fourth degree, and could put you in prison for 18 months.
Crimes of the fourth degree in the state are the lowest grade indictable offense, comparable to felonies in other states. Aside from the 18 month maximum, you can also be fined up to $10,000 by the court.
Unlike most other crimes of the fourth degree, violations of 2C:40-26(a) carry a penalty enhancement. If you’re convicted of Operating Motor Vehicle Suspended, the court is obligated to impose a minimum sentence of 180 days, during which time you will not be eligible for parole.
If you’ve been charged for driving while suspended (2C:40-26(a)), get experienced help right away. Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-385-3339 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey DWI and criminal defense attorney.