If your license is suspended following a second DWI conviction and you’re caught driving, you’re committing a felony offense in New Jersey.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26(b), Operating Motor Vehicle Suspended, Second Offense, driving on a suspended license after a second or subsequent DWI in a ten-year period, you can be sentenced to up to 18 months in prison, pay fines up to $10,000, and deal with a mandatory minimum sentence from the court of up to 180 days in jail.
New Jersey suspends licenses for a lot of reasons, but when you’ve had multiple DWI convictions, the state considers you to be a risk to the public and wants to make sure you comply with penalties.
If you’re convicted of a second or subsequent DWI in New Jersey and get caught driving while your license is suspended for DWI, under N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26(b), Operating Motor Vehicle Suspended, Second Offense, you’ll go to prison for a minimum of 180 days, and as long as 18 months.
The statute builds on an earlier subsection of 2C:40-26 and is intended to make it exceedingly painful to violate the terms of a repeat DWI penalty. Aside from the time in jail or state prison, you’ll also be expected to pay fines of up to $10,000.
Operating Motor Vehicle Suspended, Second Offense is a surprisingly big deal that can cost you your job, strain your family, and damage your reputation even more than the DWI that led to it.
If you’re facing 2C:40-26(b), don’t take chances with your future. Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-385-3339 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.