If you’ve been charged with possession of cocaine in New Jersey, you are facing a Third Degree offense in the state which can carry a sentence of three to five years in New Jersey State Prison, and a fine of up to $35,000.
Penalties are enhanced by various factors, including possession within 1,000 feet of a school.
If you are a repeat offender, penalties can be doubled.
New Jersey operates on a presumption of non-incarceration for first time offenders, so if you’ve avoided trouble with the police in the past, it’s likely that you’ll be eligible for alternative sentences that can keep you out of jail, but you’ll be supervised by the court and required to meet various conditions.
Possession of Cocaine, like most drug offenses in the state, is described in law as Possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance (CDS), and is as a Schedule II drug, indicating that it is highly addictive, extremely likely to be abused, and has a very limited medical application.
Conviction on drug crimes in New Jersey is extremely serious. Beyond the fines and jail time, you’ll face a lifetime as a felon and see employment, housing, and other opportunities slip away.
Call 732-625-9661 and learn how you can protect yourself against even the most serious criminal charges.