Like all theft crimes in New Jersey, Theft by Deception is charged on a scale relative to the value of the goods that were stolen.
Theft by Deception is charged when you are alleged to have presented yourself falsely, withheld information from another party that would influence their judgement of a transaction, or if you fail to correct a false impression created earlier that is influencing a person with whom you have a confidential or financial relationship with.
As a fourth degree crime, you are charged with using Theft by Deception to appropriate goods valued between $200 and $500, and carries a maximum penalty of 18 months in prison.
There is no presumption of incarceration for a fourth degree crime, so you may be eligible for Pre-Trial Intervention or other alternative sentencing if this is your first arrest.
In the third degree, Theft by Deception is charged when the value of goods that was stolen are between $500 and $75,000.
The potential penalty is three to five years in state prison, though again, you may be eligible for probation or other alternative sentences if you have no prior criminal history.
As a second degree crime, Theft by Deception is charged when the value of goods is more than $75,000, and conviction carries a five to 10 year sentence.
Whatever degree you’ve been charged with, conviction will leave you with a criminal record that will exclude you from numerous opportunities in life.
Theft crimes in particular will render entire categories of employment off limits, and may impact housing and access to education as well.
Attorney Matthew Reisig defends clients in all New Jersey counties, and has an excellent record of success in defending theft charges of all types.
Call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation.