As with most drug prosecutions, possession of methamphetamines in New Jersey is graded based on the amount of the drug you were caught with.
For possession of less than half an ounce, you’ll be charged with a third degree crime, carrying a sentence of up to five years and a $15,000 fine.
Possession of between half an ounce and five ounces of meth is a second degree crime, which can put you away for ten years, with a $150,000 fine.
Possession at this amount or higher risks additional charges, like distribution.
There are several factors that can enhance penalties, such as being within a school zone.
You can also be prosecuted for being under the influence of meth, and the state’s burden of proof in that case is very low.
If this is your first drug offense in New Jersey, you likely have avenues for alternative sentences that can keep you out of jail.
Contact attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey drug charge defense attorney for free.