Yes, New Jersey has what is known as a close-in-age exemption to sex crimes statutes that reflects the reality that a relationship between a 15 year old and a 17 year old isn’t the same as a sexual relationship between a teenager and an adult.
In New Jersey, if the difference in ages is less than four years – and both parties are older than 13 – then the facts of the case meet the definition of the close-in-age in exemption, and the older party should be in the clear.
The exemption only applies to consensual sexual relationships.
If there is evidence that either party, regardless of age, engaged in criminal sexual conduct, then charges are still possible.
If you have been charged with sexual misconduct in New Jersey, fight back before your future is ruined.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig at 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with one of New Jersey’s most experienced criminal defense lawyers.