Criminal Attorney Matthew Reisig Helps Those Charged With Theft By Unlawful Taking Of Means Of Conveyance
“Means of Conveyance” in New Jersey law means everything from a motor vehicle, boat, bicycle, horse, train, and even airplanes.
Theft by Unlawful Taking of Means of Conveyance (N.J.S.A. 2C:20-9) criminalizes the taking of a means of conveyance without the owner’s authorization, and applies a grade to given behaviors.
At the disorderly persons level, taking a means of conveyance other than a motor vehicle with the purpose of withholding it temporarily from the owner can result in a six month sentence and a $1,000 fine.
It is a crime of the fourth degree in New Jersey to take a motor vehicle with the purpose of temporarily withholding it from the owner, as is riding in the motor vehicle that has been taken.
Fourth degree crimes carry a potential sentence of 18 months and a $10,000 fine.
Taking a motor vehicle without authorization and using it in a reckless manner which is likely to cause injury to persons or damage to property is a third degree crime in New Jersey, with a maximum sentence of three to five years and a $15,000 fine.
Theft by Unlawful Taking of Means of Conveyance is a serious charge that can have big implications for your future.
Even if you were simply out joyriding with friends and had no involvement in the actual taking of the vehicle, you run the risk of dealing with a felony conviction for years to come.
If you or a family member are facing theft by unlawful taking of means of conveyance charges, get experienced legal help right away, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.