Criminal Defense Attorney For Theft By Deception
If you deceive another in order to obtain money or property from them, or to prevent them from accessing information that would alter their judgment of a transaction, you may be charged with Theft by Deception (N.J.S.A. 2C:20-4) in New Jersey.
The statute explicitly describes the following actions as violations:
- Creates or reinforces a false impression, including a false impression about the law, value, or intention related to the transaction
- Creates a false impression that the defendant is collecting on behalf of a charity
- Prevents another from acquiring information that would affect their judgment of the transaction
- Fails to correct a false impression that the defendant previously created, to a person with whom they have a fiduciary relationship.
The statute also explains that Theft by Deception may include other scenarios, giving prosecutors fairly wide berth in asserting the charge.
Theft by Deception in New Jersey is charged according to the value you are alleged to have stolen.
Amounts under $200 are a Disorderly Persons offense, and may carry a sentence of up to 6 months, plus fines of $1,000.
After this amount, your charges will fall into the indictable crimes category, comparable to felonies in other states.
Theft crimes can be charged as high as Second Degree Crimes, which carry a sentence of between five and ten years in prison.
There are many defenses when it comes to allegations of state of mind or he-said, she-side types of prosecutions.
Attorney Matthew Reisig protects people from serious criminal charges such as theft by deception in New Jersey.
If you or a family member are facing charges on theft by deception, call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation.