Possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana in New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 2c:35-10a(3)) is a Fourth Degree Crime, comparable to a felony charge in other states.
Penalties can run as high as 18 months in jail, with a $25,000 fine, various fees and assessments, plus a 24 month suspension of your driver’s license.
Aside from the obvious penalties, keep in mind that even when you return to society, you’ll be left with a drug conviction on your record that will be visible to employers, colleges, landlords, and others who have enormous power to shape your life.
The best choice you can make once you’ve been charged with possession of marijuana in New Jersey is to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer familiar with the intricacies of drug laws and drug cases.
Attorney Matthew Reisig represents clients all over New Jersey who’ve been arrested for possession of marijuana.
Call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey marijuana possession attorney.