In New Jersey, indecent exposure is charged as a crime called Lewdness, and can carry significant criminal penalties.
Lewdness may be charged a disorderly persons offense, with a potential sentence of six months in county lock up and a $1000 fine.
More dangerously, charging Lewdness as a Fourth Degree Crime puts you at risk of spending 18 months in state prison and paying a $10,000 fine.
The good news is that a Lewdness charge by itself probably won’t trigger the Megan’s Law provisions requiring registry as a sex offender, but any way you look at it, these are serious charges that carry significant risk to you.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig right away at 732-625-9661 for experienced legal representation by a New Jersey criminal defense attorney.