New Jersey classifies marijuana as a “controlled dangerous substance,” and possession of marijuana does have legal consequences.
If you’ve been caught in possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana, you’ll be charged with a “disorderly persons offense,” with a penalty of up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1000.
Because the crime involves a controlled dangerous substance, the state may also suspend your driver’s license for up to two years and impose additional fines and fees.
If you’ve been arrested for possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana, you’ll face a felony charge that can land you in state prison for up to 18 months and cost you $25,000 in fines.
New Jersey law makes no distinction beyond the 50 gram rule.
If you are in possession of 56 grams, or about two ounces of marijuana, you’ll face the same penalties as someone in possession of pounds or tons of the same drug.
If you’ve been arrested in possession of marijuana in New Jersey, get legal help right away.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig at 732-625-9661 for experienced criminal defense.