Heroin is a Schedule I drug, and is classified as a Controlled Dangerous Substance.
Penalties for possession are associated with the quantity of drugs found, but additional penalties may apply for possession in or near schools and other public facilities.
Possession of half an ounce or less of heroin is a Third Degree crime, carrying a sentence of 3 to 5 years in state prison, along with a maximum $35,000 fine.
You’ll also face a six month suspension of your driver’s license, though that’s the least of your worries.
If you are convicted of possession with intent to distribute as a Third Degree crime, the fine increases to $75,000.
If caught with more than half an ounce but less than five ounces of heroin, you will be charged with a Second Degree crime, with a sentence of between 5 and 10 years.
More than five ounces of heroin is a First Degree crime, and you’ll be facing 10-20 years in prison, with a fine of $500,000.
New Jersey takes drug prosecutions very seriously, and you need to take every measure to protect yourself going forward.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.